Posted by: Heather | March 1, 2010

Beauty in the Press

If you’ve seen this before, please indulge me.  I’ve been out of town over the weekend, and haven’t had a chance to write what’s on my heart yet.  My daughter and I had a lovely time with our friends, but  need a bit more time to catch up.  I hope everyone has a blessed week!

2 Corinthians 4:8-9  We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; Persecuted, but not forsaken;  cast down, but not destroyed…

I have heard so many serious prayer requests lately.  People are going through things of a magnitude like I’ve never seen in my 36 years of serving the Lord.  The children of God are feeling pressed greater than ever.  But, I want to encourage you today not to despise the pressing…embrace what God is doing through it.

As Christians, we are expected to produce fruit.  But, we usually don’t think of what happens to fruit after it has grown and ripened.  If it’s left hanging on the branch (or vine), it eventually rots and becomes worthless to anyone.  In order for fruit to be of value for anything, it must be harvested, and pressed.

The full benefit of fresh, raw fruit can be found in pressing.  We can eat it, in which case it’s pressed and crushed by our chewing.  This makes all of its nutrients and fiber available to our bodies for healing and building of tissues.  Another way is pressing it as in the production of oil.  When olives are harvested, they are finely ground into a paste and pressed under severe pressure so they yield a very healthy,valuable oil.

The Holy Spirit is many times represented in the Bible as precious oil.  Oil cannot be produced, except by ripened fruit that has been harvested and is ready to be crushed and pressed for the Master’s use.  The word “Gethsemane” means “the olive press”.  Jesus was crushed and pressed for us, and we still have the benefit today of the ‘oil’ produced by that pressing.  Likewise, the pressing we go through in adversity will yield something of far greater benefit in the end…a greater dependence on God, and ministry to our fellow man by the Holy Spirit.  After you have endured the pressing, you become a prime candidate for being used to minister to someone else that is going through what you have overcome.

So, if you’re ‘in the press’ today, be encouraged.  God works through the press to create something precious to Him that will also be a testimony to His goodness and glory!

Responses

  1. Oh, Heather, I’ve only read two so far. The names was a blessing, but “Beauty in the Press” was just what I needed right now. Thank you!

    • Sharon, I’m so glad it blessed you. Thanks so much for letting me know! 🙂

  2. I love this, beautiful blog! I look forward to reading more of what God gives you to speak. I love the health addition you do and recipes!

    • Donna, I really appreciate that!. This is something the Lord has dealt with me about. I’m on the health journey myself, learning to lean on the Lord to change my ideas about nourishing my body. I hope to share much more of that in the future. Blessings to you!

  3. Hey Heather, your blog posts are so, so good! To God be the glory, great things He is doing through you, His willing vessel. I’ve enjoyed each of them, and today was very timely for me. I was thinking about this scripture today. Your blog was very encouraging. This season of unemployment is painful some days, and yet it makes me identify with others in the painful things in their lives, as well, be in unemployment or a host of other things. No matter how we feel, we can TRUST GOD! Thank you for stepping out with God and doing this. I know that it will bless many people. I’m sending you a big hug! Glad you and Charity had a good time over the weekend!

    Love you much,
    Joni : )

    • Joni,

      Wow! I’m so blessed by your wonderful comments, and so happy to hear God is speaking to you through them. Keep trusting God, girl…He’s there with you all the way, and I’m believing with you for the perfect job in his timing and plan. Hugging you back, and ready to see you again!! 🙂

      Love you too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

