Posted by: Heather | March 11, 2010

Anointed to Spread the Gospel

Matthew 28:18-20  And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, all power is given unto me in heaven and in earth.

19 Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:

20 Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world.  Amen

I don’t understand it.  Some days it seems the Lord uses the strangest things to stimulate my mind toward Him.  I have 5 children at home, and we homeschool, so quiet time in our home is…well, nonexistent, except between the hours of 12 AM and 6 AM.  I feel this calling on my life to study and write about the goodness of God, and the things He’s showing me in His Word.  So, my wonderful husband allows me, as our schedule permits, one day per week to get away alone so I can pray, study, and write.  I have to go to another location to get this time, because if I’m anywhere on our property, the children will instinctively find me, and I won’t get much done.

This morning, as I was on my way to my getaway spot, I passed by a church near our home.  They change the saying on their sign every so often, as many churches do.  Today, their sign read:

A cold church is like cold butter…it doesn’t spread well.

Immediately, my mind began to mull that over.  Being a long-time cook, I’m well aware of the properties of butter.  Butter imparts excellent taste to baked goods; far superior to that of margarine.  But, just as the sign says, butter is impossible to spread when it’s cold.

When using butter, it must be softened or heated to be usable in most recipes, as there are very few things you can do with it when its cold.   Heating or softening butter releases its maximum flavor so its full, rich taste can be experienced.

As I continued to think about it, a word struck my mind from ‘out of the blue’ (seemingly).  That word was ‘anointing’.  I began to think about the anointing of God, and how the Bible often represents the anointing as oil.  Then it struck me…there is a way to make butter spreadable.  It can be whipped together with olive oil, and then, even when refrigerated, it will be a lovely spreading consistency.

To spread the gospel, our hearts must be softened, and mixed with the anointing of Christ.  He is the Messiah, which is ‘the anointed one’.  When the anointing is alive in our lives, it keeps us actively spreading the gospel to all mankind.

When a church (or we as individuals) will become softened by entering into true relationship with God, the anointing  will  start to mix in.  When that happens, we long to spread the richness and blessings of Jesus.   Spreading the gospel will come, and the rich, full flavor of Christ will be known to all men.  Then we can proclaim, in the words of Psalm 34;8: O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him.

Responses

  1. The is very good! Keep up the good work. I want to remain soft and pliable! Tony

    • I’m with you Tony…I want to always have a soft heart before God. Thanks for your comment!


Leave a Reply

Categories

