Posted by: Heather | March 13, 2010

Shadows of the Messiah

“Education is not filling a bucket, but lighting a fire.” – William Yeatts

I’ve always loved this quote.  I suppose, as a parent, this is what we all dream of…to have a child that is genuinely passionate about something.  There is such a difference.  When we attempt to ‘fill a bucket’, the ‘bucket’ just sits there and passively receives whatever we put in it.  But a fire, in total contrast, consumes.  When we become passionate about something, we will do whatever it takes to learn more, even if it means incorporating subjects we have no interest in otherwise.   I can easily apply this to myself.   If I’m excited about doing something, I will go to whatever means necessary to find the information I need to complete the task.  This is the same enthusiasm I enjoy seeing in my children when it exhibits itself.

Education is not only an academic task.  We are educated in many ways.  But, the most compelling education of all is that of true life experience.    The definition of education is “the knowledge and development resulting from an educational process”.   Education can be positive or negative.  When we learn something that truly excites us and moves us forward, it’s very positive.  However, on the flip side, when our children come home and repeat things they’ve heard that aren’t exactly lovely, we see the negative side of ‘education’.

When we choose to be just a ‘bucket’, there is little joy to be gained.  American churches sit full of those that wait simply for the pastor to fill them up with whatever sermon he has prepared that day, and whatever songs were chosen.  There is little joy, little worship, and little motivation.

I like to think of the Spirit of God in my life as oxygen.  Oxygen is a very basic need of physical life.  But, to have any kind of true relationship with God, we need spiritual ‘oxygen’ as well.  The things that increase our ‘oxygen’ level are reading and studying God’s Word, and prayer.  James 4:8 tells us Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you.” If you feel stale in your relationship with God, begin to draw nigh to Him in these ways, even when you don’t feel like it.  Then He will become nearer to you.

When an atmosphere becomes charged with oxygen, all it takes is a tiny spark to set a fire that is difficult to contain.  That fire will also spread and overtake those that may be standing by.  Oh, that we all could have that kind of relationship with our Savior!  How incredible it would be to see others so affected by our relationship with Christ that they have to serve Him too!

That is what I hope to accomplish in a series of messages I’d like to call ‘Shadows of the Messiah’.   These will not be successive messages, but posted occasionally as I study and write them.  So much of the world today sees little significance to the Old Testament, and the beautiful pictures of Jesus Christ that are written there.  As I’ve studied some of these, I can feel a passionate fire being re-kindled in me.  A greater love for my Lord, and a desire for greater understanding of His plan is taking me over.

I pray that as these lessons come forth, you will respond as I have, and be able to say as Jeremiah did:  “…his word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones.  I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot.”  (Jer 20:9 NIV)

If you haven’t already begun, start increasing your spiritual ‘oxygen’ level today, and ask the Lord to provide the spark.  Being overtaken by a consuming fire is so much more joyful than simply being a bucket.

God bless you!

Responses

  1. Good article,I’ve learned there is a lot to parenting

    • Thanks, Tony! You’re absolutely right…I wouldn’t want to try to parent without the Lord behind me. There’s too much to it. 🙂 Hope you have a blessed day!

  2. I like it!!!

    • Thanks Amy! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

