Posted by: Heather | May 20, 2010

The Healing Power of Whole Foods

Gen 1:11-12  (NASB)  Then God said, “Let the earth sprout vegetation, plants yielding seed, and fruit trees on the earth bearing fruit after their kind with seed in them”; and it was so.  12  The earth brought forth vegetation, plants yielding seed after their kind, and trees bearing fruit with seed in them, after their kind; and God saw that it was good.

Gen 1:29 (NASB)  Then God said, “Behold, I have given you every plant yielding seed that is on the surface of all the earth, and every tree which has fruit yielding seed; it shall be food for you;

As my first nutrition Bible study, I wanted to post a little something about whole foods, and why they’re so good for us.  Our culture has lost a huge amount of knowledge about foods, and why they are good or bad for us.  We are driven as a society by our taste buds and convenience, to the point that we have sacrificed our health and well-being.

In looking at the Genesis 1 scriptures above, it’s very clear that God created certain things for our use as food.  The main idea that I see in this scripture is that He created plants for us to consume that yield seed after their own kind.  In other words, He expected humans to ‘be fruitful and multiply’.  He also created our food to be that way.  The plants He created for our consumption were to also be fruitful.  If planted, the seed could reproduce again.  This is a major quality to fruits, vegetables, and whole grains that make them so healthy for us…they are fruitful plants that can reproduce new life when replanted.

Vegetation and fruit trees were created by the spoken word of God, as was everything He created.  However, we look at this passage and think that it means ‘God spoke one time and it all happened’.  However, Hebrew is a very different language than English in its expression.  It doesn’t mean that God spoke once and it was done.  This is an ongoing speech.  The idea is that plants and trees are still here today because God continues to say ‘Let there be…’, and that if He ever quits speaking, there is no longer any creation.  Scripture seems to bear this out in Revelation 8, when there is a space of half an hour of silence…God ceases to speak.  At this point, the wrath of God is poured out, bringing destruction to earth.  Then, a new heaven and a new earth come to be.

This is one of the most intriguing things about plant based foods.  They are literally sustained by the spoken Word of God!  Because they are created and sustained by His Word, they naturally contain elements of healing in them.  We often stand on scriptures and pray for healing, and that’s a good thing.  However, God has also created physical elements for healing in His creation.  Using food as one avenue for healing does not take away from God, His Word, and His healing power.  It is a way He created for us to nourish and bring life to these human bodies.  It is part of His original plan, in conjunction with our spiritual growth and relationship with Him!

The term ‘whole foods’, simply means foods are used in their whole form, not processed and stripped.  In the processing of foods, the parts we might consider ‘undesirable’ are stripped away.  For instance, to process sugar and flour, the darkest, most nutritious parts are stripped away to leave a light, colorless appearance that makes our baked goods really pretty and light.  When our diets are comprised mainly of processed foods, we get virtually no nutrition, because the most nutritious parts have been stripped away.

When God created whole foods, He created them in such a way that each food contains what it needs to be digested properly.  For example, for many years, eggs were made the villain.  We were told not to eat them because of the cholesterol content.  Then, later, it was discovered that the whites of the egg contain lecithin.  The lecithin in the white of the egg counteracts and helps digest the cholesterol in the yolk of the egg.  When we eat a piece of fruit, it contains all of the necessary components of digestion within itself.  Whole foods work with our bodies instead of against them.  When we eat processed foods, our body must rob nutrients from itself to help digest the food, because the food isn’t complete.  We can get away with it for a period of time, but eventually, breakdown results somewhere.

Am I saying you must eat an entirely plant based diet?  No, not at all.  There are plenty of people teaching that, but it is obvious in scripture that meat and dairy foods were instituted into the human diet at a later time.  These are still whole foods when eaten in their whole form.  In all things though, moderation is the key.  I’m also not saying that people won’t face any health challenges if they choose to eat all whole foods.  But, our quality of life can be so much better than it is, especially in later years.  If we strive to feed our ‘whole bodies’ whole foods, we can benefit from the nutrition and gain a greater sense of well-being and health.

I hope this is a blessing to you.  The Lord has dealt with me about this for quite a long time.  In the past few months, I’ve been working more diligently to walk out the things I feel He’s showing me regarding biblical nutrition and eating more whole foods.  As a result, I’m beginning to see some very positive health changes that I’m very excited about.  I’m losing weight more easily and gaining more energy (to the point that I want to exercise).  Lifelong skin problems (eczema) have all but disappeared, blood sugars are coming into easier control.  I’m experiencing less daily pain (from being over 40-LOL), and many other benefits.  I have run from the call to teach nutrition for some time, because I had gotten out of walking it out in my own life.  But now, as I go on this journey, I will seek to follow the Lord in what He is leading me to do and teach.  I pray that I will continue to be faithful in this calling and see myself and others blessed…physically, emotionally, and spiritually.

May God bless you today!

Responses

  1. Heather, that is so encouraging and I rejoice with you about the greatly reduced allergy symptoms of your children! I have been plagued with respiratory problems this winter and am looking forward to a healthier me!!! And Laura, I’m still trying to get my breadmaking down to a science, but it seems to be more of an art which I haven’t completely mastered yet. My bread tastes great but it falls slightly in the middle. 😦 Please share any breadmaking tips you discover. I’m praying for you. Please include me in your prayers as well.

  2. Carolyn has made a believer out of me… mill my own flour..now to learn how to make great tasting breads…ect. I have many health problems.. & weight issues as well.. hope to resolve all through healthy eating… & lots of prayer..

    • Laura,

      Congratulations on making the change! I think you’ll be very happy with the results. Carolyn commented that she found my site through Bread Beckers, so I assume you buy through them as well. But, it is just an assumption. 🙂 They have a couple of good cookbooks, and I’m also very fond of the Bread for Life cookbooks by Beth Holland. We’ve enjoyed most everything we’ve made out of those. God bless you on this journey!

  3. I discovered your web site through breadbeckers.com where I buy my grain. Just in the last few months I started milling my own flour, making homemade yogurt, almond butter, and dehydrating everything that doesn’t move! I have struggled with large weight gains and losses for my whole life…I’m way past my 40s! LOL I see that whole grains as well as whole foods are a big piece of God’s plan to deliver. I lead a Food Addiction/Disorder Group at Celebrate Recovery in my church. I would especially like to read blogs about your weight struggles, victories and what the Lord is speaking to you. I look forward to receiving your blogs through my email! God’s blessings to you!!!

    • Carolyn,

      Thanks so much for your comments. I appreciate you reading! I too have struggled with large gains and losses in my life, and it’s an area of constant prayer for me to overcome. I have been away from writing for awhile, but am feeling the need to resume it. God has been speaking to me about some things, and I’m hoping to share soon! 🙂 God bless you!

      • Even though I’ve only been milling my flour for a few weeks, I’m already seeing some wonderful results. The healthy “sweets” from this whole grain approach doesn’t create the craving and addiction that white sugar and flour does. After reading your blog, I checked the eczema that’s been on my hand for years and it’s almost gone! I know milling our own flour is not a “magic bullet”, but I firmly believe that a lack of nutrition from processed food is the major reason for the obesity epidemic in the U.S….especially me! I’ll be praying for you and would appreciate your prayers as well.

      • I’m so glad to hear that Carolyn. We’ve seen many good health benefits. But, the most profound thing for me was the allergies of my children. My now 12 year old son and 17 year old daughter both had horrible spring allergies. My 17 year old could hardly walk outside without a mask. When we first started milling our own flour, and did it consistently the entire winter, the allergy symptoms dramatically reduced that spring. They’ve done so much better ever since. I’ve also seen a reduction in eczema symptoms. I’ve had it since I was little. I totally agree with you. I really believe lack of nutrition feeds not only obesity, but much disease as well. I appreciate your prayers, and am glad to pray for you as well. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

