Posted by: Heather | June 11, 2010

Eat Real Bread – Jesus!

John 6:48  I am that bread of life.

Those of you that have followed my blog for even a short amount of time probably realize that I am a big proponent of the idea that God reveals Himself through His creation.  Of course, we don’t worship His creation, but knowing about it sure can make us love and appreciate our God that much more.  He has such a perfect order in His design, and what He’s accomplished on this earth is far more advanced than any man made technology will ever be.  His plan is perfect, down to the most minute detail of the smallest thing.  I just can’t understand how man could study it and not see there’s a supreme God.

I became interested in baking bread from freshly milled wheat a few years ago.    Through my own research and a certain chain of events, I began to realize the health benefits that could be had just by baking our own bread.  I did it diligently for awhile.  But, because of some severe, immediate long-term medical  needs of my mother-in-law (we care for her in our home), my bread baking fell by the wayside for a long time.  She became fairly stable again after a long period of time, so several months ago, I decided I must pick it up again.  We have seen some wonderful health benefits so far, and continue to see more on a regular basis.

As I started to see the positive changes in my life since making the bread, I began to connect how  Jesus compared Himself to bread several times in scripture.  I figured if there are natural things that Jesus compared Himself to, He must think those natural things are pretty wonderful.  After all, He is wonderful!  Thus began my study on the comparison between fresh bread in the natural, and Jesus, the Real Bread.  (NOTE:  Yes, that is a loaf of my homemade bread in the picture above.)

Rather than try to make this a long series where one part builds upon another, I’ve decided to do these in a more ‘stand-alone’ format, where each part can be easily read and digested on its own without having to read all of the previous parts.  Of course, I’d like you to read all of them, but you won’t have to in order to get the idea contained in each one.

This has been an in-depth study, and I’m sure there will be a lot of things I can say on it.  I will also post on other things as the Lord leads, but I believe there will probably be multiple posts on this subject.

I expect to post the first in this series at the beginning of the week.   I pray you will all be blessed to find Jesus, the real bread of life, more real to you through this study.  I have seen Him once again in His wonderful creation, and His attributes just inspire me more and more as I learn about them!

God bless you!

Leave a Reply

Categories

