Posted by: Heather | November 18, 2010

Psalm 23 – Dwelling with the LORD

 

 

Psalm 23:6  Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life:  and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.

As we end this study on Psalm 23, I’ve been spending some time going over the entire passage and the lessons I’ve learned from it.  I never dreamed this few verses of scripture could be as rich and full of revelation as it has been to me during this time of study.  Now, it has a depth greater than my previous understanding…much more than we, God’s people, pictured as sheep and Jesus as the Good Shepherd.  Although that is one of its wonderful pictures, there is so much more to gain from it.

As I began to see this chapter in a totally new way, in my eyes it became a masterful piece of artwork that illustrates our entire journey with Jesus Christ.  Because He physically experienced the death, burial, and resurrection, He is able to lead us on that same journey spiritually (Part 1).  He leads us from a life of sin, and brings us aside to a place of stillness and rest with Him (Part 2).  Our soul is able to be restored to right relationship with Him as we begin our journey toward our ultimate destination; eternity as His bride (Part 3).   When we come into true fellowship with Jesus, we go on to be buried with Him in baptism (Rom 6:4), as our ‘old man’ is done away with, symbolizing the death of our sinful ways (Part 4).   He also uses the rod of correction and the staff of kindness to evaluate and inspect our hearts (Part 5).  As we continue in our daily lives, submitting to His call, He anoints us with the Holy Spirit to the point that our lives overflow.  We are blessed beyond measure, and are able to bless others out of the abundance of that anointing (Part 6).

This final verse in Psalm 23 explains to us what happens as we continue on the path chosen for us by God Himself.  To this point, He has constantly guided us in the right path, and rescued us when we’ve deviated from it.  As we pass through times of trials so dark we can’t see our way, our character flaws and innermost needs are laid bare before Him.  It is during these times He is inspecting us and lovingly helping us confront issues that keep us from walking more closely with Him.

Throughout this whole chapter, the Shepherd has taken the responsibility of doing the majority of the work.  Each verse tells us the things He does for us.  Our responsibility is to follow the path He has placed before us.  As a result, verse 6 says that ‘goodness and mercy will follow us all the days of our lives’.  When we think of the word ‘follow’ in English, we simply think of a person or pet that comes behind us where ever we go.  In Hebrew, the language is more aggressive.  It actually says that goodness and mercy will pursue me all the days of my life.  I won’t have to worry about whether they are nearby, because as I seek to please the LORD, they will find me and be near me as constant companions.

As I studied these lessons, I saw Psalm 23 as the picture of our journey with Christ from the lowest place of sin to the highest point of eternity.  One day, I was looking at a map of Israel in my Bible atlas, and realized this journey has an interesting parallel to an ancient path that led from the Dead Sea to Jerusalem.  On this particular map, there was a route mapped out that went from the edge of the Dead Sea around En-Gedi, northwest and then northeast through the Valley of Hinnom, and up the mountain to Jerusalem.  I began to see how Jesus takes us from the depths of sin, represented by the Dead Sea (the lowest point on earth), and symbolically takes us on the journey toward Jerusalem, the place He has chosen to write His name (Where God’s Name is Written).  What a wonderful God we serve!

This path we follow on our journey with the LORD leads us to many places.  Some will be still and tranquil.  Some will be dark and tumultuous.  Others still will be on the mountaintop.  But, through it all, our final destination is eternity with Him.   We will dwell with Him forever as His bride.  If you ask me, I think that’s a pretty wonderful way to end my life here on earth as a lowly sheep.

 

Responses

  1. this gave me a whole new perspective on my walk with Jesus & I can’t wait to see where he leads me next because wether its a high or a low, he is always with us! man we sure do serve an awesome and merciful God!

    • Yes we sure do serve a wonderful God! I’m so glad to hear you were blessed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

